ARTIST_CAPS

WATCH // Here We Go Magic Announces ‘Be Small,’ Shares Video For “Falling”, Summer Tour Dates

SC315-HWGM-FC-HR-1425
Here We Go Magic return with Be Small, an album that finds the band taking a smaller approach to production and finding more intimate soundscapes, but hosts no less acrobatics of musicianship and singular sonic ambition. Recorded and mixed entirely by the band and inspired by Brian Eno and John Cales Wrong Way Up and Robert Wyatts Shleep, Be Smalls overtly major and optimistic” songs, as described by band leader Luke Temple, are a big leap from the live, expansive sounds of 2012’s Nigel Godrich-produced A Different Ship. Its an album of robust future pop that still continues its route through Here We Go Magics inimitable path of fidgety prog-rock, blissful melodies and sound collage experimentations, but always with a focus on a deep groove.

Debut single and pulsating album standout, “Falling,” builds upon arpeggiated, satellite signal synths and joyous, interlocked acoustic strums and fuzzed guitar. It gathers momentum with each phrase about falling in love (though it’s unclear if this is a thing to be celebrated or dreaded) until the whole affair suddenly halts into a nothingness that sounds like a Gregorian chant from the bottom of a wishing well. Watch the video below for the debut single, directed by Sam Kuhn.

Here We Go Magics Be Small is out October 16th on Secretly Canadian, and available for pre-order now. All digital pre-orders come with an instant free download of Falling. Catch Here We Go Magic all over Europe and North America this fall. All dates are below.

Pre-order Be Small:
via SC Distribution
via iTunes
via Amazon
Support your Local Indie Stores
https://soundcloud.com/secretlycanadian/here-we-go-magic-falling/s-yMWw1

Be Small Track Listing:
01. Intro
02. Stella
03. Be Small
04. Falling
05. Candy Apple
06. Girls in the Early Morning
07. Tokyo London US Korea
08. Wishing Well
09. Ordinary Feeling
10. News
11. Dancing World

Here We Go Magic Tour Dates:
(more info and tickets here)

Sun. Aug. 30 Paris, FR @ Rock en Seine
Tue. Sep. 1 London, UK @ Electrowerkz
Wed. Sep. 2 Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Thu. Sep. 3 Glasgow, UK @ King Tuts
Sat. Sep. 5 Portmeirion, UK @ Festival No. 6
Sun. Sep. 6 Stradbally, IE @ Electric Picnic
Thu. Oct. 22 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri. Oct. 23 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Sat. Oct. 24 – New York, NY @Bowery Ballroom
Sun. Oct. 25 – Somerville, MA @ Cuisine en Locale
Mon. Oct. 26 – Montreal, QC @ Divan Orange
Tue. Oct. 27 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel
Wed. Oct. 28 – Detroit, MI @ UFO Factory
Thu. Oct. 29 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Fri. Oct. 30 – -Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Sun. Nov. 1 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Tue. Nov. 3 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Wed. Nov. 4 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Thu. Nov. 5 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Fri. Nov. 6 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern
Sat. Nov. 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club
Sun. Nov. 8 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Nov. 10 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Fri. Nov.13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater
Sun. Nov. 15 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Tue. Nov. 17 – Austin, TX @ Red 7
Wed. Nov. 18 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Thu. Nov. 19 – New Orleans, LA @ Siberia
Fri. Nov. 20 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Sat. Nov. 21 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook

WATCH // Gardens & Villa Release Video For “Fixations” Via Fader, Album ‘Music For Dogs’ Out August 21

“Santa Barbara-to-L.A.’s Gardens & Villa are dropping Music For Dogs this August 21st, and the video for “Fixations” is as good a trailer as we could hope for. E-cigs, freed nipples, and at least one drone bounce around a basement party in purgatory, while songwriters Chris Lynch and Adam Rasmussen lurch around trying to find meaning through sun-drenched 70s-leaning rock”
The Fader

E-cigs, freed nipples, drones… what else did you expect from a Gardens & Villa music video? With more than a month to go before their new album Music For Dogs drops August 21, the band has released the music video for “Fixations”, directed by Austin Kearns. The bizarre, psychedelic video features G&V stumbling upon an e-cig and drug-fueled party, featuring a Segway-cruising Einstein/Warholian menace, portrayed by none other than Foxygen’s Sam France. Check it above or on the band’s Youtube channel.

Pre-Order Music For Dogs now via SCD, iTunes, or Amazon

GARDENS & VILLA TOUR DATES
[All dates + tickets at secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Tue. Sept. 15 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thu. Sept. 17 – Austin, TX @ The Parish
Fri. Sept. 18 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Sat. Sept. 19 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues/Bronze Peacock
Sun. Sept. 20 – New Orleans @ Gasa Gasa
Tue. Sept. 22 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5
Wed. Sept. 23 – Carrboro, NC @ Cats Cradle
Thu. Sept. 24 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri. Sept. 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Sat. Sept. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Tue. Sept. 29 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Wed. Sept. 30 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PDB
Thu. Oct. 1 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Fri. Oct. 2 – Detroit, MI @ UFO Factory
Sat. Oct. 3 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sun. Oct. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Tue. Oct. 6 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Wed. Oct. 7 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Thu. Oct. 8 – Las Vegas, NV @ Bunkhouse Saloon
Fri. Oct. 9 – San Diego, CA @ IRENIC
Thu. Nov. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy
Sat. Nov. 14 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlows Restaurant & Nightclub
Mon. Nov. 16 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Tue. Nov. 17 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt
Wed. Nov. 18 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
Fri. Nov. 20 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent

ALBUM RELEASE // ‘Dancing At The Blue Lagoon’ From Cayucas Out Now Worldwide, Featured in LA Weekly

Because tropical + jangly / breezy = summer song. Period.
Esquire

Dancing at the Blue Lagoon, the sophomore album from LA-based Cayucas is out now worldwide! To mark the release, twins Zach and Ben Yudin sat down with Daniel Kohn of LA Weekly to talk songwriting, the recording process, and BMW commercials. Read the whole article here

Purchase Dancing at the Blue Lagoon via SCD, Amazon, iTunes, or your local record store.

Cayucas heads out on tour in mid-July. Check out tour dates, album art and track-listing after the jump

Read the rest of this entry »

LISTEN // Steven A. Clark Shares “Not You” From Upcoming Debut ‘The Lonely Roller’, Out 9/18

A restless artist recasting R&B and a musician with a few stories to tell on the long drive ahead, Steven A. Clark is a straight-talker in a genre filled with wish-fulfillment, whimsy and cliched beats. On The Lonely Roller, his Secretly Canadian debut album due out September 18, the descriptions of emotions and bad breaks, of flawed characters extricating themselves from tragic affairs, arent just a set-up or storytelling device. Its personal identification set to song, new additions to a canon looking for fresh blood.

“I dont want to just be some guy trying to bring something back, but I always think there is room for a flawed character,” Clark says. “The characters in the songs and me, theyre often the same guy. Thats why I use my actual name. Theres no point in just talking about the character on stage.” By pairing raw, confessional singing and personal stories with pulsing synthesizers and rhythms that hang in the air like a glowing grid of roadside neon, Clark is charting his own creative path.

Miami by way of Fayetteville and Little Rock, Clark’s musical journey began in the south with roots in hip-hop. Attracted to the honesty of the form as well as the creative potential, Clark’s own style evolved toward verse. On songs such as lead single “Not You,” he flips a brutally honest breakup tale and draws emotions and empathy from being on the right side of the conversation.
“Rhythm and blues aint all candy and hearts,” says Clark. “There is real emotion, and lots of times, artists dont always go there. Tapping into the darker side helps make a song more real, and keeps things fresh.” We love the wanderer with no patience for niceties, who cant be bothered by saccharine stories, because we know theyre being called to seek out something more, and Steven A. Clark is the next stranger to roll in from out of town.

Pre-order The Lonely Roller now via Secretly Canadian, iTunes, Amazon, or
your local independent record store

SC301-SAC_FC-1425-RGB

The Lonely Roller Tracklist
1. Lonely Roller
2. Trouble Baby
3. Not You
4. Can’t Have
5. Bounty
6. Time Machine
7. Floral Print
8. Part Two
9. She’s In Love
10. Young, Wild, Free

AUDIO

VIDEOS

TOUR DATES

09/14/15
London, UK - Sebright Arms

09/15/15
Lille, FR - Peniche

09/16/15
Paris, FR - Pop Up Du Label

09/17/15
Amsterdam, NL - Paradiso

09/18/15
Tilburg, NL - Incubate

09/19/15
Hamburg, DE - Kleiner Donner

09/21/15
Leipzig, DE - Taubchental - Club

See all upcoming shows

AGENT CONTACT