Spotify Instagram Youtube Twitter Tumblr Facebook

JUNE PANIC | Songs From Purgatory



  1. Disc 1:
  2. Sundowner
  3. Long, Long Stem
  4. Dumb Stories
  5. Excavation
  6. The Catcher in the Whole Wheat
  7. My Little Tool
  8. Lawrence Welk Plaster Caster (Part Two)
  9. Firewood
  10. Stoned Indifference
  11. Second Virginity
  12. Pupil
  13. Fountain of Youth
  14. In Protest
  15. Ripe Grape
  16. Womenopause
  17. Save Your Breath
  18. Dreams Are Hard to Follow
  19. Gone
  20. Disc 2:
  21. That Parade
  22. Brain Slide (Craniology)
  23. Me Another Baby Panther
  24. Cardinal Virtues
  25. (Born Into) Cynosure
  26. Co-op Tune
  27. Litany
  28. Tina Turner (The Devil Is Sorry)
  29. Snellgrove Sucks
  30. Death of My "Significant Other" (By God)
  31. Forever
  32. Sample and Hold
  33. Birthday Present
  34. Get Up
  35. Pin Coffin
  36. Spin The Awful
  37. Disc 3:
  38. Recipes
  39. There Is a Tool
  40. All Girls
  41. Required Thinking Exercise
  42. Come In from the Cold
  43. Dancing on the Graves of Those We Loved
  44. Fuck the Inconceivable (Everybody Wants to Die Happy)
  45. Happy Medium
  46. The Sad & the Stupid
  47. Nuke in Fridge
  48. Jesus-Christ-Fucka-Sucka-Mobile
  49. Satan Star
  50. The Moon and the Memories
  51. Space God/Jen's 1.4
  52. 3rd Grade
  53. Lonely for Lonely's Sake
  54. The Intro
  55. Hate Yr Blues

June Panic spent six years during the early 1990s crafting 14 lyrically disturbed and sonically self-mutilated albums that would make him the closest thing to an underground rock songwriting celebrity that the Dakotas would bear during this era otherwise obsessed with grunge. While scratching an itch for Dylan that could not be alleviated, June willed his bedroom songs into musical nuggets that find tonal residence between the hazy fog of Ween and Sebadoh, the great white isolationism of Eric's Trip, and the everything-and-the-kitchen-sink production style of '80s-era Prince.

The material embodied on Songs From Purgatory was recorded in vans, dank basements and tiny apartments in Grand Forks & Fargo, North Dakota using crappy microphones on an even crappier 4-track machine. This body of work showcases a songwriting and producing talent that perhaps was only commercially held back by its medium - one which he initially embraced as a matter of necessity, but eventually grew to deliberately embrace with the zeal of a lo-fi revolutionary. According to June, "Over time, I came to appreciate the sounds I was getting, and it dawned on me that recording in an expensive studio is not somehow inherently superior to 'lo-fi' recordings - it is simply a different medium."

Originally released as cassette-only albums on his own label 3 Out Of 4 Records, June's master tapes were almost destroyed in the Great Flood of 1997 that consumed Grand Forks. Over 200 master tapes sat submerged under the murky Red River water for several days in his parents' basement until saved through a painstaking cleansing process that is hilariously documented in the liner notes to this collection. Brought into this world by June, taken out by the Flood, then brought back by June, these songs have been re-mastered by the able hands of the iconic KRAMER.

(SC095 released: 09/11/07)


Birthday Present by June Panic
Sundowner by June Panic



There are no shows at this time.

See all upcoming shows


Glacial Booking - Chris Walters