Spotify Instagram Youtube Twitter Facebook

Steven A. Clark

Biography


Living in a city is like having a love affair, and like any love affair, the passion for a city can produce monumental music. On Steven A. Clark's second LP, Where Neon Goes to Die, the North Carolina-born singer-songwriter follows in the footsteps of artists like Fleetwood Mac and OutKast by painting a fascinating portrait of the place he calls home—in his case Miami. The album was created alongside the German DJ/producer Boys Noize, who Clark met (fittingly) backstage at a Miami club gig, where the two fell into a deep conversation about mutual influences that quickly became a full blown collaboration.

Latest News


Steven A. Clark Announces New LP ‘Where Neon Goes to Die’

Steven A. Clark has announced a new LP Where Neon Goes To Die available September 7th via Secretly Canadian. With one foot in the 80s pop / R&B that Clark grew up and the other in contemporary club the album flows in the vein of a Peter Gabriel meets Frank Ocean; a juxtaposition that feels… Read more »

LISTEN // Steven A. Clark Shares “Can’t Have” (Ape Drum Remix)

timthumb

Steven A. Clarks Secretly Canadian debut album, The Lonely Roller, is out now and starting to turn heads. Hes the recent subject of a Weekend Edition Sunday feature and his hot, new single, “Cant Have,” gets a remix from rising Houston producer Ape Drums which premieres today via self-titled.

Rather than demoting Clark’s emotive vocals to the background, Ape Drums manages to keep them prominent; effortlessly infusing them with snares, high hats and kick drums.

I loved working on this remix,” Ape Drums notes, “I had a lot of room for creativity as the original melody of the vocals were already amazing. I took my time, changed ideas completely and am very satisfied with the outcome.

Ape Drums brought a great new dynamic to ‘Can’t Have’ says Clark, aptly adding “Now we can dance and cry at the same time.” Its the aural representation of your inability to let go of summer.

Luckily, Steven A. Clark will hit the road this November with Sinkane to heat things up during the pre-winter doldrums. Prior to that hell hit New York City for CMJ where hell perform live on WNYC Soundcheck and at the Secretly Group CMJ Showcase.

Buy The Lonely Roller Now:
Secretly Canadian // iTunes // Amazon // Support your local independent record store

STEVEN A. CLARK TOUR DATES:
(tix and info here)
Tue. Oct. 13-Sat. Oct. 17 New York, NY @ CMJ
Mon. Nov. 2 London, UK @ The Waiting Room
Fri. Nov. 6 Cologne, DE @ Gebaude 9 (Cardinal Sessions Festival)
Sat. Nov. 7 Hamburg, DE @ Molotow (Cardinal Sessions Festival)
Sun. Nov. 8 Berlin, DE @ Musik & Friden
Tue. Nov. 10 Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brendas (tickets) *
Wed. Nov. 11 New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge (tickets) *
Thu. Nov. 12 Boston, MA @ Great Scott (tickets) *
Fri. Nov. 13 Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Art Space (tickets) *
Sat. Nov. 14 Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground (tickets) *
Sun. Nov. 15 Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz (tickets) *
Wed. Nov. 18 Toronto, ON @ The Drake Underground (tickets) *
*Fri. Nov. 20 Detroit, MI @ Majestic Caf (tickets) *
Sat. Nov. 21 Chicago, IL @ Schubas (tickets) *
Sun. Nov. 22 Cincinnati, OH @ MOTR Pub (tickets) *
Tue. Nov. 24 Columbus, OH @ Skullys (tickets) *
Wed. Nov. 25 Washington, DC @ Black Cat (tickets) *

* w/ Sinkane